Cllr Damien Geoghegan

19/02/18

To whom it may concern,

I request that the Boundary Committee would consider dividing the current Dungarvan/Lismore Electoral Area into two distinct divisions for electoral purposes. This would mean returning to the pre-2014 situation, which was, in my opinion, a much more practical and beneficial arrangement for both the urban and rural parts of West Waterford.

The 2014 Local Government reforms saw a 40% reduction in the number of Elected Councillors nationally, and also saw a large increase in the geographical size of electoral areas. In addition to these changes, Town Councils were also abolished.

I believe that larger urban centres should have a greater focus than they received following the 2014 reforms, and if there's any proposal to give greater autonomy to towns that previously had a town council, then Dungarvan and its hinterland should not be omitted or put at any disadvantage from any changes that may accrue.

An electoral area based on Dungarvan and its wider rural hinterland should be considered, along with a separate Lismore Electoral Area which would include the towns of Lismore, Tallow and Cappoquin. (This would reflect the satisfactory situation that existed prior to the 2014 changes.)

I would therefore suggest that the Dungarvan/Lismore Electoral area be divided in two for electoral purposes (with no overall change to the combined geographical make-up of both areas)

Respectfully yours,

## **Councillor Damien Geoghegan**